European Latsis Prize Ceremony 2012

European Latsis Prize Ceremony 2012
23 Nov '12

On November 22nd, 2012, the European Science Foundation and the Fondation Latsis Internationale presented the European Latsis Prize to professor Uffe Haagerup, from the University of Copenhagen, for his contribution to the field of operator algebras. The event took place in Brussels and the prize is valued at 100,000 Swiss francs.

Professor Uffe Haagerup has published numerous papers in scientific and academic journals and has received many awards and distinctions for his contribution in mathematics.

The award is funded by the Geneva-based Fondation Latsis Internationale and was established in 1999. It is awarded by the European Science Foundation, ESF, to individuals or a group who, in the opinion of their peers, have made the greatest contribution to a particular field of research, which varies each year. 

For the ESF's announcement, see here.
For the 1991-2011 laureates' list, see here.